Australian Premier League Announced


3 October, 2012

Football Queensland has today announced the 12 clubs who have been granted licences to the Australian Premier League (APL), following an application process which saw 22 submissions from football clubs around Queensland.

The clubs were asked to meet detailed assessment criteria as well as submit a business plan, a football plan and five year financial forecast.  The clubs who have been successful in their application are:

  • Brisbane City Football Club
  • Brisbane Strikers
  • Central Queensland Football Club
  • Far North Queensland Bulls
  • Moreton Bay United
  • Northern Fury
  • Olympic FC
  • Palm Beach Sharks
  • Queensland Academy of Sport (Over 18s only)
  • Redlands United Football Club
  • Sunshine Coast Fire
  • Western Pride Football Club

With the national competition, the Hyundai A-League, in its eighth year and continuing to grow, the introduction of the APL looks to further strengthen the junior talented player pathway.

By 2018, it is hoped that at least one of the abovementioned clubs will be successful enough to gain promotion to the A-League, with Football Federation Australia (FFA) looking to introduce a promotion/relegation structure from 2022.

Football Queensland Chief Executive Officer, Geoff Foster, believes today’s announcement is a step forward for football in Queensland and is excited by the opportunities it will afford junior players throughout the state.

“The APL will no doubt strengthen our top tier, the Hyundai A-League, but most importantly it provides a clear pathway for our talented juniors who will receive top quality coaching and develop their skills in a professional environment,” Foster said.

“With clubs having to meet certain criteria to be given a licence, it brings a new level of accountability to the player pathway, not only for the clubs but for Football Queensland and FFA in developing quality coaches and competitions for players to aspire to”.

The new Australian Premier League will kick off in March, 2013 with clubs to field teams from Under 12s to First Team in men’s and women’s competitions.


Comment Guidelines: The SportingPulse Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Player Points System

The Player Points System (PPS) for the 2014 NPL Senior Men’s is set at a maximum of 250 points for each club. The current PPS table as of Friday, 12th September 2014 is:

 Brisbane City - 217 pts

 Brisbane Strikers - 247 pts

 FNQ FC Heat - 235 pts

 Moreton Bay Utd Jets - 222 pts

 Northern Fury - 185 pts

 Olympic FC - 241 pts

 Palm Beach Sharks - 247 pts

 Redlands United - 198 pts

 Sunshine Coast Fire - 204 pts

 SWQ Thunder - 150 pts

 Western Pride - 219 pts

Football QLD News