FFAS ironing out details for OFC Executive meeting in A.S.

FFAS ironing out details for OFC Executive meeting in A.S.


Football Federation American Samoa is ironing out minor details in preparation for the first ever OFC Executive meeting to be held in the territory.

The meeting is to be held on November 26, 2009, Thanksgiving Day, at the Tradewinds Hotel’s Equator Conference Room and the participants are to include OFC President Reynald Temarii and OFC Secretary General Tai Nicholas.

At the bottom of the story is the list of the Executive Committee members that will be traveling to American Samoa for the OFC meeting.

FFAS has been working to secure a conference room for the meeting and notifying media outlets of possible interviews with a one or more of the OFC Executive Committee to update on progress the region has made towards the development of the sport in all 11 Member Associations of OFC.

The confederation, the smallest of six within FIFA, is in euphoria after one of its members recently qualified for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™.

New Zealand’s All Whites triumphed 1-0 against Bahrain in the return-leg of their two-game series at Westpac Stadium in Wellington to qualify for the competition that kicks off next August.

The contingent arrives in the territory at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 25 and then departs Nov. 27 around noon.

FFAS President Iuli Alex Godinet and CEO Tavita Taumua will be observers in this committee meeting.

Iuli, as an observer in an earlier executive committee meeting held earlier this year, requested that one be held in American Samoa and it was approved by all the members present.

He, Taumua and FFAS Men’s Development Officer Ruben Luvu will be arriving with the contingent travelling from New Zealand via Samoa on Nov. 25.  The three are taking part in a FIFA/OFC Technical Seminar that concludes with the OFC Executive Meeting here next week.



Fred de Jong   Vice-President                        Board Director New Zealand Soccer

David Chung  Senior Vice-President             President PNG Football Association

Martin Alufurai           Executive Member      President SIFF (Solomon Islands)

Lee Harmon    Executive Member      President CIFA (Cook Islands)

Ahongalu Fusimalohi  Executive Member      General Secretary TFA (Tonga)

Lambert Maltock        Executive Member      Vice-President VFF (Vanuatu)

Claude Fornier            OFC Treasurer            President New Caledonia soccer


Comment Guidelines: The SportingPulse Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

BBC Sport Football

Fox Sports Football